setting

This command sets a BigFix client setting.

Settings are named values that can be applied to individual sites or to client computers. Each setting has a timestamp associated with it. This timestamp is used to establish priority -- the latest setting will trump any earlier ones.

Version Platforms
8.0.584.0 AIX, HP-UX, Mac, Red Hat, SUSE, Solaris, Windows
8.1.535.0 Debian, Ubuntu

Syntax

setting "<name>"="value" on "<date>" for client
setting "<name>"="value" on "<date>" for current site
setting "<name>"="value" on "<date>" for site "<sitename>"

Where name=value describes the setting, and date is a timestamp used to establish priority between conflicting setting commands.

Examples

Sets the setting name to Bob with an effective date of 31 Jan 2007 21:09:36 gmt. It will supersede any other name setting with an earlier date.

setting "name"="Bob" on "31 Jan 2007 21:09:36 gmt" for client

Set the preference setting to red for the site named color. There can be a different preference setting on each site. This example uses the now inspector to set the effective date to the time the action was evaluated.

setting "preference"="red" on "{now}" for site "color"

This sets the division setting to "design group". Note that the quotes are percent encoded.

setting "division"="%22design group%22" on "{now}" for current site

Notes

When a client is reset, the effective dates of the settings are removed and any subsequent setting commands will overwrite them. There are several ways that clients can be reset, including computer-ID collisions (most often caused by accidentally including the computer ID in an image that gets copied to multiple systems), changing the masthead to a new server, or instructing the client to collect a new ID.

The actions that run next will establish a new effective date, but the setting values will be the same as before the reset. The values are retained because they contain information such as relay selections. That way, when a deployment reset occurs, you don’t have to issue new actions to reset your network relay structure.